June 13, 2016

Four teachers in Alberta Catholic schools have won this year's Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence.

The Catholic winners are Nicole Blais, a Grade 6 teacher at St. Mary's Elementary School in Lloydminster, Carla Cuglietta, a Grade 11 teacher at St. Joseph's High School in Edmonton, Abbi Easton, a Grade 9 teacher at Holy Trinity High School in Fort McMurray and Mandy Reed, who teaches Grades 10 to 12 at Notre Dame High School in Red Deer.

Altogether, five Alberta teachers won the teaching excellence awards this year.

Recipients of the Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence are honoured for their remarkable achievements in education and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation-based economy.

Nicole Blais, Grade 6, St. Mary's Elementary School, Lloydminster Catholic School Division

Carla Cuglietta, Grade 11, St. Joseph's High School, Edmonton Catholic School District

Abbi Easton, Grade 9, Holy Trinity High School, Fort McMurray Catholic Schools

Mandy Reed, Grades 10 to 12, Notre Dame High School, Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools